Lurker intro: need reality check

Moderators: 330GT, abrent

chamm

Post by chamm »

Hello Tom and company,

I am a middle aged resident of the Alabama Gulf Coast who has decided (for unknown reasons) that he needs a vintage Ferrari.

I have studied this site as well as ferrarichat and Kerry's site. Considering that I'll be doing most of the maintenance and restoration myself, and budgetary concerns, I've settled on the 330 GT. Preferably a Series I, as I like the 4 HL face.

Am I crazy to think that a Series I will be fun to drive in and around town, to the point where it could be used almost as a daily driver? Has anyone found an elegant way to retrofit a modern A/C system in these cars? And finally, what are the best sources for finding 330 GTs?

Thanks for your help, and for this great site. I hope to be an active contributor in the not too distant future.

Charles Hamm
fuiszt

Post by fuiszt »

Hi Charles-
I think Yale's series 1 has proven itself able to handle about anything modern roads/traffic can dish out-I think he's got an electric fan if memory serves. Some of the guys here swear they have working AC in their cars-I'm not sure how modern a ferrari you need to look at to be sure it really works as well as it might in a ford or chevy (I know someone with a 456M that complained it couldn't deal with 100 degree weather in DC). I drive mine to work, but I'm a little careful about my travel times and route to avoid the heaviest traffic.
I think if you would be happy daily driving a 1960's anything, a 330 isn't really any different, just more expensive to maintain. If you haven't been in a 1960's car since you were a toddler you might not enjoy the experience as much. A 2003 Honda accord seems like a spaceship after a few hours in a 330.